Marvelous Malbec

Laurel Glen Vale la Pena Mendoza Malbec 2002

Loyal readers know that I have a gushing love affair with the wines from Laurel Glen. But on a weekend visit to Nacional 27, I spied a wine on their list I’d never HEARD of, let alone tasted. To my chagrin, Lauren Glen makes a reserve style Malbec from 80 year old vines in the Mendoza region of Argentina. Luckily, I had some hefty LEYE gift cards and ordering up this dark beauty was no issue.

I have to say, I’ve never had Malbec like this before. The structure and complexity rivals any great young Bordeaux, yet with flavors more exotic. It was this incredible inky purple color with aromas like the dusty Rutherford region  of California, black plums, and dark roasted coffee. I have no doubt this wine will age well and plan to grab a few bottles for my own cellar. I wish I had ordered the wine an hour or two before dinner so I could have enjoyed it with more decanting time, so if you snag a bottle for yourself, definitely give this one some breathing room. You may have to go on a serious hunt; only 300 cased were produced.

Or better yet, put on your salsa shoes and head out this weekend to Nacional 27. Order up the truffle crusted filet with malbec reduction. They are magical together. Then dance the night away with some killer caipirinhas. (Even winedivas need a cocktail now and then.)

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Marvelous Malbec

  1. Knobbe Diva

    Just goes to show, even the Wine Diva can be sideswiped when she least expects it with something just fantastic. That is the reason food nor wine can ever be boring or passe- there is not enough time in the world to get to it all but we should all try. Cheers!
    PS Long live foie gras!

Leave a Reply

