Primus. The wine, not the band.

I’m back in the wine saddle again. After weeks of actor-land and a nasty cold, its feels great to be getting back to all things vinous. So, I popped a really tasty Chilean red the other night with a simple grilled steak. Veramonte has always made great value wines in my opinion – going all the way back to the days that the Huneeus family owned them along with Franciscan Oakville Estate. But somehow, I had it in my head that their premium Bordeaux-style blend Primus was a lofty $35 or so. When I sniffed this elegant glass of spicey, plummy goodness – I thought “Tasty. But it aint worth 30 bucks.” Low and behold, I was WAY wrong! To my delight, I later read that the SRP is only $17! Probably more like $15 in the Chicago market. Its a steal for that price. Buy some. Drink it with steak and forget any financial woes.

46% Merlot, 31% Cabernet Sauvignon, 23% Carmenere (and ancient Bordeaux varietal – not grown much in France anymore, but makes a really swell blending grape in Chile.)

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Primus. The wine, not the band.

  1. agustin

    Christine,

    Thank you for your kind words on Veramonte and Primus.

    I did want to let you know that while Constellation help us distribute our wines, our family still owns Veramonte.

    Saludos

  2. Duly noted Agustin. Thanks so much for checking my blog! I will definitely share with my readers that your Chilean estate is still family owned and will always be one of my favorites.

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

