9 years and fab wines. Parking lot disaster averted.

Yesterday I celebrated nine years of marraige with my super cool hubby. I am still amazed he hasn’t traded me in for a younger and thinner version. If there is an “upgrade wife” function for windows, I’d appreciate it if you’d all keep it to yourselves.

Needless to say, I broke out some fancy stuff from the cellar. I realize that these wines are no longer available except on the auction market, but if any of you have these wines in your cellar – here’s a recent report on their evolution.

First up was the Roederer Estate Anderson Valley Brut Rose NV. (OK – you can still get this!) Always a perfect combo of earth tones, cranberry, and rose petal and delivers a huge punch for $25. As I was spending big ducats on the food and vacation is next week, I decided this was as high end as I could go – even on a special night. Nothing was lacking! Especially tasty with my first and second courses:

Wild Caught Jumbo Gulf Shrimp – Stuffed with goat cheese and wrapped in crispy proscuitto

Butter Lettuce Salad with Goat Cheese, Dried Cranberries and Toasted Walnuts in Cranberry Mustard Vinagrette

Then I had two wicked Cabernet -based beauties to go with…

Braised Short Ribs in Red Wine over White Cheddar Polenta

Ooooooohhhhh Yeeeeeeaaaaahhhhhh

So – Spottswoode Napa Valley Cabernet 1993

Some folks said this was a lackluster vintage overall, but I never agree with such sweeping generalizations. This wine is case and point. The fruit was still quite forward with an exotic combo of blueberry, bacon, thyme, and…root beer. For real. Plenty of vibrant color and a touch of earthiness to remind me of its age and stature.

And, after a hiddeous accident in my parking lot – I thought this wine was a goner. It rolled out of my precariously arranged bag and landed solidly on the pavement. Tears were welling in my eyes as I was carefully muffling a string of curse words (I park in a local church lot.) but the Lord must have been watching because the bottle didn’t break, crack, or even roll! It was destiny that I enjoy the…

1990 Rausan-Segla Margaux

While it was petulant in the decanter, eventually its true colors shined – well into the cheese course! The wine has hints of youth, but mostly its that wonderful aroma of tromping a gravel trail in a lush forest. Herbs, plum, toasted bread, cola, and dark roasted coffee all played a role in this wine’s show. Just starting to take on that brickish color, but no need to rush and drink yours tomorrow. Just make sure you have it secured properly before you yank it out of your car!

Too full for Pumpkin Bread Pudding and dessert wine, but Campbell’s Rutherglen Tokay is always smashing with anything involving pumpkin spice.

Nine years…maybe he keeps me around for my ability to whip up 5 courses and matching wines on a Wednesday? Take that, all you skinny twentysomething trophy wives. I will take you DOWN! Or maybe just sit on you…that seems easier.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

